What is the new Student Preview mode in Blackboard?

What is the new Student Preview mode in Blackboard?

For many years, faculty have been asking for a true student preview of Blackboard without having to log in and out of the system as different users. Your wish has been granted with the new Student Preview mode in Blackboard. The former “Test Student” tool in the Course Tools gave an easy way to add a test users to your account but required you to log in and out of the system and required you to remember to delete the data of that users, if necessary. Plus the old “Test Student” tool didn’t allow you to access a course prior to the course opening. Now the new Student Preview mode in Blackboard gives you the option to see your before it starts as a student, not have to log in and out of the system, and keep or delete the data each time you exit the Student Preview mode.

Student Preview in Blackboard

Access the Student Preview mode at the top of your screen, next to the button to turn the edit mode on/off.

Student Preview in Blackboard Options

Once you are in the Student Preview mode you will notice a bar on the top letting you know it’s on. It will also give you two options.

  1. Settings
    1. You can check this box to not ask you the exit action for the student preview and set the default for this course as one of the options below.
    2. Default option to delete the preview user and all data each time exiting the course. This is a great option for just testing the course and seeing what work or doesn’t work for students.
    3. Default option to keep the preview user and data each time exiting the course. This is a great option for those wanting to keep grade center data to test adaptive release options or review material in the grade center for this user.
Student Preview in Blackboard Settings
  1. Exit Preview: This will allow you to exit the Student Preview mode and will ask you similar questions as above, if you didn’t already select in the settings about default exit actions for your Student Preview mode.

 

If you exit the preview and having selected the default settings, you will be asked to check on of these options.

Student Preview in Blackboard Exit Options
  1. Option to delete the preview user and all data each time exiting the course. This is a great option for just testing the course and seeing what work or doesn’t work for students.
  2. Option to keep the preview user and data each time exiting the course. This is a great option for those wanting to keep grade center data to test adaptive release options or review material in the grade center for this user.
  3. You can check this box to not ask you the exit action for the student preview and set the default for this course as the option chosen above.

Note: The new Student Preview mode will be replace the course tool option “Test Student” in Blackboard.  

Leave a Reply